Board of Trustees

North Star Academy is governed by a ten-member Board of Trustees, in accordance with the school’s charter.

Eight trustees are appointed for two-year terms, and two trustees are elected members of school Parent Councils, who serve one-year years.

Rick Rieder (Chair), CIO of Fixed Income & Head of Global, Allocation Investing, BlackRock
Paul Bambrick-Santoyo (Secretary), Chief Schools Officer, Uncommon Schools
Nicole Bearce, Vice President & Chief Litigation Counsel & Assistant Secretary, Spectrum Brands Holdings
Ravi Bellur, Managing Director, Tarsadia Capital
Lawrence Evans, Managing Director, Citigroup
Bob Howitt, Executive Director, WKBJ Foundation
Thomas Redburn, Partner, Lowenstein Sandler PC
Scott Sleyster, Executive VP & COO, International Businesses, Prudential Financial
James Verrilli, Senior Dean of Faculty Development, Relay Graduate School of Education
Ezdehar Abuhatab, Assistant Professor, Essex County College; Parent/Guardian Representative                                                                                                          Steven Creekmur, Investor Services Manager, JGM Fund Services; Parent/Guardian Representative                                                                                                          Trisha Scipio, Administrative Affairs, DLJ Communications Group;  Community Representative

 Karin Gerald, Senior Director, North Star Academy                                                 Juliana Worrell, Assistant Superintendent, North Star Academy
 Serena Savarirayan, Assistant Superintendent, North Star Academy
 Kelly Dowling, Assistant Superintendent, North Star Academy
 Michael Mann, High School, Head of School


Board minutes from previous years can be found here.

All meetings run from 6:00 – 7:30 p.m. unless otherwise noted.


Aug. 12 at 18 Washington Place
Sep. 16 at 108 S 9th Street
Nov. 18 at 377 Washington Street


Jan. 27 at 43 Alexander Street
Mar. 16 at 24 Hazelwood Avenue
May 18 at 571 18th Avenue
June 15 at 18 Washington Place

Uncommon Schools has transitioned to remote learning due to the ongoing COVID-19 situation. See here for information.